NEWS on LIFE, WORK, & PLAY in Mississippi's College Town

Nominations Sought for Partnership Annual Awards Banquet

STARKVILLE, Miss. – Do you know of an exemplary business or individual who you believe represents some of the best Starkville has to offer? The annual awards banquet of the Greater Starkville Development Partnership is a great way to honor member businesses, individuals and stakeholders who have impacted the community in the last year. The Partnership is currently accepting letters of nomination for two prestigious awards which will be presented at our Annual Banquet on Tuesday, February 4, 2020.

Last year’s R. Clay Simmons Exemplary Enterprise Award Recipient Starkville Radiology


“Our annual awards banquet truly highlights all of the outstanding chamber businesses within our community,” said Hunter Harrington, Director of Membership for the GSDP. “We encourage community members to nominate those individuals and the chamber business of the year who they feel are deserving of these two awards as we celebrate another wonderful year for the Partnership.”

Of the prestigious awards sponsored by the GSDP each year, two are chosen based on community and member nominations. We invite the public to review the descriptions of the awards, and submit nominations to the Partnership no later than 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 27. Award nomination forms are available for download below.

R. Clay Simmons Exemplary Enterprise Award
Initiated in 1995, the R. Clay Simmons Exemplary Enterprise Award is presented through the Chamber of Commerce division to a for-profit business or firm in the greater Starkville area that has demonstrated exemplary business practices and made outstanding contributions to the community. The award is given in memory of R. Clay Simmons, who offers a lasting example of superior community and business leadership. Past recipients of the R. Clay Simmons Exemplary Enterprise Award include Cadence Bank, Tabor Management and Construction, Metrocast, TE Lott and East Mississippi Lumber Company.

R. Clay Simmons Award Nomination Form 2019

T. E. Veitch Community Service Award
The T. E. Veitch Community Service Award, established in 1993, is the most prestigious community service award given annually by the Greater Starkville Development Partnership. The award honors individuals who have made outstanding community service and civic contributions. Veitch award nominees exhibit continuing involvement in community affairs which enhance the common good of the community in meaningful ways. T. E. Veitch Community Service Award past recipients include Lynn Phillips-Gaines, Rex Buffington, Bill Poe, Frank Chiles and Wilson Ashfort.

2019 Veitch Nomination Form

Greater Starkville Development Partnership
ATTN: R. Clay Simmons Award OR T. E. Veitch Community Service Award 
200 East Main Street
Starkville, MS 39759